FrugaLouis- St Louis Coupons, Discounts, Events and Fun!

CVS: An Illustration

Posted on: August 16, 2010

Saturday evening after our daughter was in bed, I made a run to CVS. This pharmacy chain is a newcomer to the St. Louis scene, and I’m so very glad they’ve arrived!I purchased all of the items pictured at left in three different transactions to maximize my savings. Dare to guess how much I spent for this $100 worth of merchandise? Well, after all was said and done, I actually was “paid” a dollar to buy it all! Seriously. I am telling you, CVS is good stuff!

If this all sounds overwhelming and you have no idea where to start, head over to MoneySavingMom’s CVS 101 tutorial. She explains how to use the system to begin saving like crazy. Then, each week you can check her site for a listing of CVS deals. Sometimes, however, she doesn’t get those posted on Saturdays, so in that case I check AFullCup’s CVS forum or STLMommy.

When I have the deals pages up, I then copy and paste into a word document to create my “list”. I can use this list to collect coupons and then guide me in the store so I’m sure to get the right item, even if the sale price isn’t posted.

And why is Saturday so key? One of the cashiers at my local store tipped me off that Saturday evenings are the best time to shop at CVS, for generally speaking both the previous and coming weeks’ specials are available at the same time! Woo-hoo! If you are ever wondering whether something is at the sale price, even if it’s not labeled as such, simply take it to the price scanner at the front of the store and find out.

So, have you tried CVS yet? If so, what did you think?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers