FrugaLouis- St Louis Coupons, Discounts, Events and Fun!

Eyeglasses Under $30: Zenni Optical

Posted on: October 22, 2010

Always breaking or losing your glasses? Or perhaps that would describe your son or daughter… 🙂 I have some fabulous news for you!

With my checkup at the eye doctor recently, I was reminded to post about Zenni Optical for you all. Last year after my eye exam, I went online to Zenni with my most recent prescription in-hand. And I came away with two complete pair of glasses, with shipping, for under $35! I’m not kidding. This site is for real!

The hardest part about ordering with Zenni was picking out the frames.

The second hardest was measuring the distance between my two pupils.

The easiest part, by far, was paying the bill.

Shipping is a flat rate of $4.95 per order. Glasses start at $8 a pair!

It’s now been a year since I got my glasses. I usually wear contacts so they haven’t gotten a ton of use, but I wear them a bit every day. The glasses have held up fine, and it’s the first time in my life I’ve owned more than one pair in my current prescription!

And no, I didn’t have the heart to tell all this to my eye doctor recently. Alas, I’m afraid he wouldn’t rejoice at the amazing deal I’d gotten.

2 Responses to "Eyeglasses Under $30: Zenni Optical"

So then, how DID you measure the distance between your pupils? (In case we want to take advantage of this deal too… help us out 🙂 )

Tami,
Great question! I probably should have addressed this in my post. A friend did it for me, and at first she held a ruler out over the tip of my nose. Then we (she!) realized that this wasn’t probably the most accurate way to measure. SO…she put the ruler right up as close to the bridge of my nose as she could. The measurements were off by a few mm’s. I used the second measurement and have been happy with the glasses, so it must have worked! Perhaps an easier way would have been to call my eye doc and just asked them…certainly they’d have that info on file somewhere!

Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers